▶ PAYMENT & FINANCIAL INFORMATION
Tuition and Fee Schedule
Delgado Community College’s tuition and fees are among the most reasonable in the state. The tuition and fee rate table below reflects the estimated rates for Fall 2016 in-person courses (see Online Courses section for tuition and fees charged for online courses). These rates are subject to change at any time by the LCTCS Board of Supervisors.
2016-2017 Tuition and Fees
||Board Authorized Fees
||Building Use Fee*
||Student Services Fee*
||Enterprise Resource Planning Fee*
||Tuition and Registration Fees above cap at 12 credit hours for traditional delivery courses. Online courses have no cap; Tuition, Other Charge, Student Services Fee, and ERP Fee are assessed at a rate of $133.93, $5.03, $7.00, and $5.00 per hour respectively.
|An additional Excess Credit Hour Fee of $150.96 per hour is assessed on all traditional credit hours taken by a student that are over fifteen credit hours (over 12 credit hours in the summer session)
*Non-refundable Fees based on the Tuition Adjustment Schedule. (Non-refundable fees are only adjusted if the student reduces hours or withdraws through the 100% refund period.)
Note: Course and campus specific fees and other flat fees are not included in the above rates.
The Board of Supervisors for the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) approved equalizing and standardizing tuition and registration fees for online credit courses offered by all LCTCS institutions to provide equality and convenience for online students. There is no 12-hour cap on tuition and fees related to online courses except where prohibited by state statute for certain fees. The Tuition and Fees for Online Courses have been established as follows:
- Online Tuition - $133.93 per credit hour
- Online Other Charge - $5.03 per credit hour
- Operational Fee - $3.00 per credit hour up to $36.00
- Academic Excellence - $7.00 per credit hour up to $84.00
- Building Usage Fee - $4.00 per credit hour up to $48.00
- Online Student Services Fee - $7.00 per credit hour
- Online ERP Fee - $5.00 per credit hour
- Technology Fee - $5.00 per credit hour up to $60.00
- Online Registration - $40 per semester/session if enrolled in at least one online course
Notification of Charges for Online Course and Testing Requirements
Delgado online classes may require proctored (supervised) exams or learning activities associated with verification of the student’s identity. Online students may have the option to go to a Delgado Community College campus/site or to a convenient off-campus location as approved by the instructor. Some courses require use of technology and a proctored testing software or service where additional fees may be assessed. Online proctoring charges are approximately $17.50 per one-hour exams for courses in which online monitoring is required. However, the above proctoring rate is only an estimate as course and testing requirements for online courses vary. Delgado students are responsible for checking with the instructor before the online course begins to ensure that the projected additional costs and the student’s schedule and location enable successful completion of all course requirements.
For more information, see Distance Learning and Instructional Technology Student FAQs.
Students classified as non-residents of the state of Louisiana are assessed non-resident tuition and fees according to the rates established by the LCTCS Board of Supervisors. Student residency is established at the time of application to the College. Residency classification is determined by the Admissions Office based on criteria set forth by the LCTCS Board of Supervisors and the information provided on the student’s application. If a residency reclassification is necessary or required, students must make requests through the Registrar’s Office. For more information, see the Residency section in the current College Catalog.
Students are assessed the following non-refundable flat fees each semester/session. Those below that are noted as campus or program specific are only assessed to students in that program or in a program associated with that campus as indicated.
· Student Government Association - $10 per semester for Fall and Spring Semester; $5 for Summer Session
· Student Life Center, City Park Campus - $15 per semester for Fall and Spring Semester; $5 for Summer Session
· Student Life Center, West Bank Campus - $40 per semester for Fall and Spring Semester; $20 for Summer Session
· Student Activity Fee, Practical and Registered Nursing programs only - $30 per semester for Fall and Spring Semester
Audit Fees and Tuition
Students who choose to audit a class pay regular tuition and fees. Classes taken as audit are not eligible for waiver, scholarship, financial assistance, sponsorship, or verification of enrollment.
Registration Fee Details
The academic excellence fee promotes academic excellence at the College by enhancing institutional programs. This fee was approved by the State Legislature in 2003. The fee is charged at $7 per credit hour, not to exceed $84.
The building use fee, approved by the State Legislature in 2013, is established by the Louisiana Community and Technical College System Board of Supervisors to construct, repair, maintain, operate and improve facilities and physical infrastructure of the College. The fee is charged at $4 per credit hour, not to exceed $48.
Some courses may require an additional fee to cover additional resources required to teach the course. For a complete list of fees, visit Course Fee List .
Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) Fee
Effective Fall 2010, the Board of Supervisors for the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) approved a fee to support the implementation and continued operation of the Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) system. The fee is charged at $5 per credit hour.
Effective Fall 2016, the Board of Supervisors for the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) approved a fee to be assessed on all student credit hours taken by a student that are 1) over fifteen credit hours in a fall or spring semester, 2) over twelve credit hours in a summer session, and 3) over an equivalent number of hours in a non-traditional semester/session. The fee is set at $150.96 for each excess credit hour.
International Student Fee
A non-refundable international student fee of $45 is charged all non-U.S. citizens who are also non-residents of Louisiana.
Effective Fall 2004, State of Louisiana Legislators and the LCTCS approved an operational fee to be assessed at all state colleges and universities, to cover operational expenses no longer covered by the state. The fee is charged at $3 per credit hour, not to exceed $36.
The GRAD Act (Act 741) was approved by the State Legislature in 2010 and allows for an annual increase in tuition and fees if the institution has met annual performance targets. The tuition portion of the increase that is funded by the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) has been separated from the total increase allowed per the GRAD Act with the difference included as an Other Charge. The fee is charged at $5.03 per credit hour.
Student Activity Fee - Nursing
This self-assessed student fee is charged to all Nursing students and dedicated to Nursing traditions and student activity programs. The proceeds from this fee go directly to the Student Government Association (SGA), which oversees disbursement of the funds to various Nursing student activities. This fee was adopted by the former Charity Hospital School of Nursing and maintained upon transfer of the school to Delgado Community College in 1990. The fee is charged to Practical and Registered Nursing program students at $30 per fall and spring semester.
Student Government Association Fee (SGA)
The self-assessed SGA fee was approved by the student body in 1980 and increased by student referendum in 1993. The proceeds from this fee go directly to the Student Government Association (SGA), which oversees disbursement of the funds to various student activities. The SGA sponsors annual activities such as dances, films, and speakers. In addition, funds are provided to various academic departments for cultural enrichment, and to clubs and organizations for activities that benefit the entire student body. The fee is charged at $10 for fall and spring semesters and $5 for summer session.
These self-assessed building fees were approved by the student body of the City Park Campus in 1997 and by the student body of the West Bank Campus in 2003. The proceeds are dedicated to the construction and operation of a new student life center on each campus. These fees apply to students registered at the respective campuses. The fee is charged at $15 for fall and spring semesters ($5 for summer session) for City Park Campus and $40 for fall and spring semesters ($20 for summer session) for West Bank Campus.
Effective Fall 2011, the Board of Supervisors for the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) approved a student services fee for at all LCTCS colleges. The fee is currently charged at $7 per credit hour.
This self-assessed student fee was approved by the State Legislature and ratified by the Student Government Associations in 1997. The proceeds are for the purposes of “implementing, replacing, improving, and expanding technologies to benefit student life and learning” (from Legislative Act 1450, 1997). The fee is charged at $5 per credit hour, not to exceed $60.
Dolphin Card System Replacement Fee
The Dolphin Card is the official photo identification card of Delgado Community College, as well as a multifunctional purchasing and access card. The Dolphin Card will be valid for as long as the student is enrolled in classes at Delgado and the first card is free of charge. Students are charged a $10 fee for a replacement card. If the student chooses to deposit money to his or her Dolphin Card, the student will be able to use the card to make certain purchases at Delgado locations. All deposited funds are available to the student as needed; however, refunds are not issued under any circumstances.
Payments received after due date may incur a late fee. Additional fees may be assessed monthly until the account is paid in full. This fee is in addition to all other penalties and fees assessed due to returned checks or unpaid tuition (see Student Handbook).
A student who registers after the first payment deadline of each semester or session or registers after this deadline will be charged a $25 late registration fee, unless special arrangements have been made with appropriate prior approval.
Late Graduation Application Fee
Students who will graduate are required to complete a graduation application by the established deadlines during the term in which they are graduating. A student who applies after this published deadline will be assessed a $40 Late Graduation Application Fee. Non-enrolled students who completed program requirements and failed to apply for graduation before registering for the final semester of attendance will be charged a $100 late graduation application fee.
*Note: Upon a student’s completion of the requirements for a certificate that is embedded in an associate’s degree program, the College documents the award on the student’s transcript. Certificate program completers, who desire to participate in the graduation ceremony in the semester the certificate is awarded, must also complete the application process by the established deadlines.
Motor Vehicle Registration Fees
A registration fee is charged to all students who park a motor vehicle on campus, or at any other location where the College conducts classes and provides security services. An additional nominal fee is charged to students to register each additional car. Motor vehicle registration must be renewed each fall semester so that students may park in designated student areas. Students who receive tickets for violations must present the ticket and pay the fine at the Bursar’s Office within 48 hours. A student may not receive a parking permit without a valid Delgado identification card or an I.D. card from a cooperating institution. It is important to note that parking decals must be affixed in the proper location on the vehicle’s rear windshield. Information regarding fee amounts to register a motor vehicle is available through Campus Police.
Returned Check/Credit Card Chargeback Fee
Students will be assessed a fee for all returned checks and/or credit card chargebacks due to insufficient funds, unauthorized use, cancelled card or fraud. The fee is $25 or five percent of the amount of the returned check/ credit card chargeback, whichever is greater. Any student who has a returned check or credit card chargeback on his/her account will have to pay by cashier’s check, money order, or cash for the semester in which the check was written or the chargeback was incurred plus the next semester of attendance. Only in the case of a bank or card issuer error will the returned check/ credit card chargeback penalties be removed. After the College has exhausted its attempts to notify the student, failure to pay the returned check or credit card chargeback and additional charges will subject the student to an administrative withdrawal from classes, and his/her account will be submitted to a collection agency.
All admission requirements and financial obligations to the College must be met in full before transcripts are issued. Students who have defaulted on federal student loans secured through a Title IV Student Financial Assistance Office may not receive a copy of their academic record at Delgado until the State Office of Financial Assistance verifies to Delgado in writing that the loan is no longer in default. Transcripts are issued at a cost of $10 per copy. Students requesting immediate service are assessed a $20 fee per copy.