Dec 05, 2022  
2012 Summer/Fall - Student Handbook 
    
2012 Summer/Fall - Student Handbook [ARCHIVED PUBLICATION]

Fee Descriptions


  • Academic Excellence

Approved by the State Legislature in 2003, the academic excellence fee promotes academic excellence at the College by enhancing institutional programs.

  • Charity Student Activity Fee

This self-assessed student fee is charged to all Charity School of Nursing students, with proceeds dedicated to nursing traditions and student activity programs. This fee was adopted by the former Charity Hospital School of Nursing and maintained upon transfer of the school to Delgado Community College in 1990.

  • Course/Laboratory Fees

Some courses may require course or lab fees. As authorized by the Louisiana Board of Regents, online courses require additional fees to cover electronic delivery costs. All distance education courses (Web-based and compressed video) require a $45 fee per course and may require lab or course fees specific to the individual course. For a complete list of fees, visit http://www.dcc.edu/ lab_fees/labfeelist.pdf.

  • Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) Fee

Effective Fall 2011, the Board of Supervisors for the Louisiana Community and Technical College System approved this fee, which is assessed to all students attending LCTCS colleges to support the implementation and continued operation of the ERP system, which will improve LCTCS business practices.

  • Graduation Fee

Graduating students pay a $50 fee, which includes $48 for diploma materials and processing, and $2 for a one-year membership to the Delgado Alumni Association. Students who apply after deadline incur an extra $40 fee.

  • International Student Fee

All students who are non-U.S. citizens and also non-residents of Louisiana are charged $45 per semester.

  • Motor Vehicle Registration Fees

Every vehicle parked on College property must be registered with Campus Police. The registration fee is $50 for a one-year parking decal, $30 for fall or spring semester only, and $20 for summer session; each additional car registered at the student’s same address is $10. To receive a parking decal you must present to the Bursar’s office your official car registration certificate, a completed application for a decal and payment for the registration fee. A student who receives a violation ticket must present the ticket and pay the fine at the Delgado Bursar’s office within 48 hours. Tickets may be appealed within five working days of receiving the ticket. Unpaid fines will be treated as financial obligations to the College. Grades and copies of academic records will be withheld until fines are paid.

  • Non-Resident Fees

The Board of Supervisors for the LCTCS has established policies for determining residency for tuition purposes. For tuition purposes, a Louisiana resident is defined as one who has, or a dependent person whose parent or legal guardian has, abandoned all prior domiciles and has been domiciled and is employed part-time or full-time in the State of Louisiana continuously for at least one full year (365 days) immediately preceding the first day of classes of the semester of enrollment. Other persons not meeting the 12-month legal residency requirement as defined may be classified as temporary residents for tuition purposes. Contact Admissions and Enrollment Services for specifics. Eligibility for reclassification as a Louisiana resident is determined by Admissions and Enrollment Services. Changes in residency status after the first semester of enrollment are made by the Office of the Registrar. Nonresident tuition is not applied if enrolled in all online classes. An applicant or student may not establish residency while residing in Louisiana for the sole purpose of attending school. Students on visas may not become residents.

  • Operational Fund Fee

Effective Fall 2004, Louisiana state legislators and the LCTCS approved an operational fee to be assessed at all state colleges and universities, which covers operational expenses no longer covered by the state.

  • Returned Check/Credit Card Chargeback Fee

Students will be assessed a fee for all returned checks and/or credit card chargebacks due to insufficient funds, unauthorized use, cancelled card or fraud. The fee is $25 or five percent of the amount of the returned check/ credit card chargeback, whichever is greater. Any student who has a returned check or credit card chargeback on his/her account will have to pay by cashier’s check, money order, or cash for the semester in which the check was written or the chargeback was incurred plus the next semester of attendance. Only in the case of a bank or card issuer error will the returned check/ credit card chargeback penalties be removed. After the College has exhausted its attempts to notify the student, failure to pay the returned check or credit card chargeback and additional charges will subject the student to an administrative withdrawal from classes, and his/her account will be submitted to a collection agency.

  • Student Government Association Fee (SGA)

The self-assessed student activity fee was approved by the student body in 1980 and increased by student referendum in 1993. Proceeds go directly to the Student Government Association (SGA), which oversees disbursement of the funds for student activities. Funds are also provided to various academic departments for cultural enrichment and to student organizations for activities benefitting the student body.

  • Student Life Center Building Fee

Self-assessed building fees were approved by the student body of the City Park Campus in 1997 and by the student body of the West Bank Campus in 2003. These fees apply to students registered at the respective campuses and are dedicated to the construction and operation of a new student life center on each Campus.

  • Student Services Fee

Effective Fall 2011, the Board of Supervisors for the Louisiana Community and Technical College System approved a student services fee for at all LCTCS colleges.

  • Technology Fee

This self-assessed student fee was approved by the State Legislature and ratified by the Student Government Associations in 1997. The proceeds are for the purposes of “implementing, replacing, improving, and expanding technologies to benefit student life and learning” (from Legislative Act 1450, 1997).

  • Transcript of Records Fee

Copies of transcripts are $5 per copy. Same-day service is $10 per copy. All admission conditions and financial obligations to the College must be met in full before transcripts are issued.